Could the Kia Stinger be named North American Car of the Year?

By Product Expert | Posted in Kia Stinger on Tuesday, December 5th, 2017 at 6:00 pm
2018 Kia Stinger GT2 AWD Red Exterior Front Driver Side

In 1994, the North American Car of the Year award was created. Each year, at a press conference during the North American International Auto Show in Detroit, the winner of the award is announced. In the past 20+ years, a Kia vehicle has never won this most prestigious award, but that could all change next month at NAIAS 2018. How could it change? Because the 2018 Kia Stinger was nominated and is now one of the three finalists to win the award.

[ READ MORE: 2018 Kia Stinger Pricing & Trim Level Options ]

“Today marks an important milestone in Kia’s history and the juror’s acknowledgment of Stinger’s world-class style, performance and value honors the global research, development and planning teams that ushered the Stinger from concept car dream to reality.”

– Justin Sohn, President & CEO, Kia Motors America

How is the winner determined?

2018 Kia Stinger GT2 AWD Blue Exterior Front Passenger SideThe North American Car of the Year Award – along with the Utility of the Year and Truck of the year awards – are determined by a panel of 60 automotive journalists from across North America. The judges looked at aspects like how satisfied the drivers are with the product, the value to cost ratio, how innovative the vehicle is, where it stands within its segment, and of course more automobile-specific things like design, handling, and safety.

Dozens and dozens of automobiles were evaluated by the panel, and they’ve cut the field down to just three finalists – the 2018 Honda Accord, the 2018 Toyota Camry, and the 2018 Kia Stinger. Those two sedans are fierce competitors, but we believe that Kia’s first performance-oriented sedan has what it takes to finally break the plane and capture this prestigious award. We’ll be sure to keep you updated as NAIAS takes place and the award is announced, so check back often the week of January 13th. And cross your fingers!

Leave a Reply